CEEYS_Sebastian Selke_Daniel Selke_Flimmerkonzerte #1

FLIMMERKONZERTE is an open-minded film live concert series carefully curated and organized by brothers Sebastian and Daniel Selke, also known as award-winning cello-piano duo CEEYS.
Presented by Filmmuseum Potsdam and in partnership with Q3Ambientfest.

CEEYS plays Man with a Movie Camera (SU 1929)
Introducing the curators themselves with a live-soundtrack to Man with a Movie Camera
(Russian: Человек с кино-аппаратом (Chelovek s kinoapparatom)–
is an experimental 1929 Soviet silent documentary film, directed by Dziga Vertov and edited by his wife Elizaveta Svilova.

Vertov’s feature film, produced by the film studio VUFKU, presents urban life in the Soviet cities of Kiev, Kharkov, Moscow and Odessa. It has no actors. From dawn to dusk Soviet citizens are shown at work and at play, and interacting with the machinery of modern life. To the extent that it can be said to have “characters,” they are the cameramen of the title, the film editor, and the modern Soviet Union they discover and present in the film.

Man with a Movie Camera is famous for the range of cinematic techniques Vertov invents, deploys or develops, such as double exposure, fast motion, slow motion, freeze frames, jump cuts, split screens, Dutch angles, extreme close-ups, tracking shots, footage played backwards, stop motion animations and self-reflexive visuals (at one point it features a split-screen tracking shot; the sides have opposite Dutch angles).

Man with a Movie Camera was largely dismissed upon its initial release; the work’s quick-cut editing, self-reflexivity, and emphasis on form over content were all subjects of criticism. In the British Film Institute’s 2012 Sight & Sound poll, however, film critics voted it the eighth greatest film ever made,[4] and the work was later named the best documentary of all time in the same magazine.

David Klavins:
“Exactly 30 years ago on this day – debut of the Klavins M370 vertical concert grand – Happy birthday to it, cheers! ;-) A BIG THANK YOU to all lovely people who have supported, and continue to support my “crazy” endeavors of piano building!!”
CEEYS_David Klavins_Sebastian Selke_Daniel Selke

CEEYS_Dominique Charpentier_Sebastian Selke_Daniel Selke
New playlist! “Piano & Synth”!!! A collection of awesome tracks mixing the acoustic purity of the piano with the modern evocative unlimited sounds of the synths. With modern classical stars such as Nils Frahm & Ólafur Arnalds, young innovative artists like Niklas Paschburg or Lambert & unknown but talented young composers.
with, Fabrizio Paterlini, Nil Ciuró, Federico Albanese, Jean-Michel Blais, Diego Guarnieri, Paddy Mulcahy, Dardust, Carly Paradis, Benjamin Gustafsson, Luca Longobardi, Michael Price, CEEYS, Piano Noir, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Goldmund, Klangriket, Ben Lukas Boysen
Suscribe and share it if you wish to support the artists!